Follow

Permissions

Understanding Permissions in KnowledgeNET

 

Like all multiuser systems, KnowledgeNET keeps track of who can do what within KnowledgeNET. Generally, the core system permissions and the default permissions settings that your KnowledgeNET comes with should suffice. It is important to note that permissions are NOT used to assign Group Members

 

Permissions come in four types:

  • Read permission: Enables you to look at a page. 
  • Edit permission: Enables you to make changes to a page. If you can edit (change) a page, you can delete it,  rename it or copy it. If you have edit permissions you can aslo create new pages.
  • Block read: (admin option only)
  • Block edit:  (admin option only)

When would you use Permissions?

Vary rarely will you need to change the permissions on a page or item in KnowledgeNET but here are a few examples:

  • You want teachers to be able to read other classes they are not teachers of. 
  • You want to select individual students be able to edit a specific group page.
  • You want to stop teachers from adding entries to the school calendar
  • Give teachers editing writes in the cluster Area.


Rock groups, pop groups and KnowledgeNET Groups

 

You can assign permissions to individual users, user types and groups such as teaching groups or year level groups. 

 

User Type Group

Every KnowledgeNET user is a member of a group. When system generated your account you were a assigned a user type:

  • Admin
  • Student
  • Teacher
  • Caregiver

 

KnowledgeNET also automatically places all users into a group called Everyone.

 

Class, Subject and Other Groups

Users can also be members of a number of different groups including teaching groups, subjects, special interest groups, year level groups etc.  

 

That's mine!

Every page in KnowledgeNET has an owner. The owner is usually the person who made the page. 

 

Who can do what?

By default your KnowledgeNET will come with the following permissions: 

default_permission_settings.GIF

Some of these are core system settings that can't be changed e.g. Admin will always be able to have read & edit access to anything in KnowledgeNET. Other permission settings can be changed by updating the Optional Permission Overrides.  Learn how to change optional permission overrides. 

 

Checking Permissions on a Page

To view who has permission to do what on a page or item in KnowledgeNET go to:

  1.  Action > Permissions above a page or any other item such as a calendar.

    permissions_button.GIF
  2. The permissions window will appear. The right hand side of the window will show who has permission to read and or edit page. 

 

Changing Permissions

 

To change who has permission to do what on a page or item in KnowledgeNET go to:

  1.  Action > Permissions above a page or any other item such as a calendar.

    permissions_button.GIF
  2. The permissions window will appear. A list of all KnowledgeNET users and groups will appear on the left hand side of the screen.

    permissions_screen.GIF
     
  3.  Use the search box to find specific users or groups. Then press add_icon.GIFnext to the user(s) or group(s) name.
  4. The selected users or groups will appear on the right hand side of the screen. Use the check box to give them read or read and edit rights.
  5. From the drop down menu select your preferred option:
  6. Drop Down Menu 1: Only available if making changes to page permissions not calendars etc.
    • Apply to this page  only
    • Apply to this page and any sub-pages.
  7. Drop Down Menu 2:
  •  
    • Overwrite all permissions with the above 
    • Add above, preserve existing (best option in most cases)
    • Remove above, preserve existing

Click OK to save - permissions may take a little while to process.

 

Remove Permissions Button

As permissions are rarely used it is often safer to remove this option for users.

  1. Go to Tools > Administration > Configuration Options > General Config and under  Miscellaneous Functions click "Details" next to Visibility of Standard Buttons

    miss_funtions.GIF
     
  2. The show standard buttons window will appear. Uncheck "Permissions Button" and click OK. Don't forget to also save at the bottom of the configuration page.


    show_standard_buttons.GIF
     
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk